MINUTES OF ORDINARY MEETING OF CORK CITY COUNCIL HELD ON TUESDAY 29TH SEPTEMBER 2015

- **PRESENT** An Ardmhéara Comhairleoir C. O'Leary.
- **NORTH EAST** Comhairleoirí S. Cunningham, T. Tynan, T. Brosnan.
- NORTH CENTRAL Comhairleoirí T. Gould, M. Barry, K. O'Flynn, L. O'Donnell, J. Sheehan.
- NORTH WEST Comhairleoirí M. Nugent, T. Fitzgerald, K. Collins, M. O'Sullivan.
- **SOUTH EAST** Comhairleoirí K. McCarthy, D. Cahill, T. Shannon, N. O'Keeffe, S. O'Shea.
- SOUTH CENTRAL Comhairleoirí M. Finn, F. Kerins, P. Dineen, T. O'Driscoll, S. Martin.
- **SOUTH WEST** Comhairleoirí J. Buttimer, H. Cremin, M. Shields, F. Dennehy, P.J. Hourican, T. Moloney.
- ALSO PRESENT Ms. A. Doherty, Chief Executive.
 Mr. J. Hallahan, Head of Finance.
 Mr. B. O'Hare, Management Accountant, Finance.
 Mr. P. Moynihan, Director of Services, Corporate & External Affairs.
 Mr. J. O'Riordan, Senior Executive Officer, Corporate & External Affairs.
 Mr. M. Steele, Administrative Officer, Finance.
 Ms. N. Fitzgerald, Staff Officer, Finance.

At the request of Party Whips, An tArd-Mhéara proposed, and An Chomhairle agreed to adjourn the commencement of the meeting until 5.30pm to allow members to be in attendance.

The meeting resumed, and An tArd-Mhéara recited the opening prayer.

The Chief Executive outlined the main points contained in the "**Report to members on matters to which Cork City Council are required to have regard in setting the Local Property Tax**" which had been circulated.

VOTE ON WHETHER OR NOT TO ADJUST THE BASIC RATE OF LPT

On the proposal of An tArd-Mhéara, a vote was called for on whether or not to adjust the basic rate of LPT.

A vote was called for where there appeared as follows: -

FOR: Comhairleoirí S. Cunningham, T. Brosnan, T. Gould, M. Barry, K. O'Flynn, L. O'Donnell, J. Sheehan, M. Nugent, T. Fitzgerald, K. Collins, M. O'Sullivan, An Ard-Mhéara C. O'Leary, T. Shannon, N. O'Keeffe, S. O'Shea, M. Finn, F. Kerins, P. Dineen, T. O'Driscoll, S. Martin, H. Cremin, M. Shields, F. Dennehy.

AGAINST: Comhairleoirí K. McCarthy, D. Cahill, J. Buttimer, P.J. Hourican, T. Moloney.

ABSTAIN: Comhairleoir T. Tynan.

As the numbers voting in favour of adjusting the LPT rate exceeded those voting against, An Ard-Mhéara declared the vote to adjust the LPT rate carried.

An Ard-Mhéara invited the Members to address the issue.

SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS

On the proposal of Comhairleoir S. Martin, seconded by Comhairleoir M. Finn, An Chomhairle were invited to vote for the LPT adjustment rate that they favoured from three options proposed and seconded as follows: -

- To vary the rate of LPT downwards by 15% Proposed by Comhairleoir M. Barry and seconded by Comhairleoir M. O'Sullivan. Proposed by Comhairleoir H. Cremin and seconded by Comhairleoir M. Nugent.
- 2. To vary the rate of LPT upwards by 10% Proposed by Comhairleoir P. Dineen and seconded by Comhairleoir D. Cahill.
- 3. To vary the rate of LPT downwards by 10% Proposed by Comhairleoir S. Martin and seconded by Comhairleoir T. Shannon.

A vote was called for where there appeared as follows: -

OPTION 1: Comhairleoirí S. Cunningham, T. Gould, M. Barry, L. O'Donnell, M. Nugent, K. Collins, M. O'Sullivan, S. O'Shea, F. Kerins, H. Cremin.

OPTION 2: Comhairleoirí D. Cahill, P. Dineen, J. Buttimer, P.J. Hourican.

OPTION 3: Comhairleoirí K. O'Flynn, J. Sheehan, T. Fitzgerald, K. McCarthy, An Ard-Mhéara C. O'Leary, T. Shannon, N. O'Keeffe, M. Finn, T. O'Driscoll, S. Martin, M. Shields, F. Dennehy, T. Moloney.

ABSTAIN: Comhairleoir T. Tynan.

As the proposal to vary the rate of LPT downwards by 15% and the proposal to vary the rate of LPT downwards by 10% had the majority of votes, it was agreed by Members to vote on their preference to vary downwards the LPT rate by 15% or 10%.

An tArd-Mhéara advised Members to indicate by clear preference, to vary downwards by Resolution by 15% the basic rate of the Local Property Tax or vary downward by Resolution by 10% the basic rate of the Local Property Tax for 2016.

A vote was called for where there appeared as follows: -

VARY DOWNWARD BY 15%: Comhairleoirí S. Cunningham, T. Gould, M. Barry, L. O'Donnell, M. Nugent, K. Collins, M. O'Sullivan, S. O'Shea, F. Kerins, H. Cremin. (10)

VARY DOWNWARD BY 10%: Comhairleoirí K. O'Flynn, J. Sheehan, T. Fitzgerald, Ard-Mhéara C. O'Leary, T. Shannon, N. O'Keeffe, M. Finn, P. Dineen, T. O'Driscoll, S. Martin, M. Shields, F. Dennehy, P.J. Hourican, T. Moloney. (14)

ABSTAIN: Comhairleoirí T. Tynan, K. McCarthy, D. Cahill, J. Buttimer.(4)

The numbers voting in favour of adjusting the LPT rate downwards by 10% exceeded those voting in favour of adjusting the LPT rate downwards by 15%.

The following resolution was then proposed by Comhairleoir S. Martin and seconded by Comhairleoir N. O'Keeffe : -

"It is resolved that at the meeting of Cork City Council on 29th September 2015, the basic rate of the Local Property Tax should stand varied downwards by 10% for the year 2016 in respect of the relevant residential properties situated in its administrative area."

An tArd-Mhéara declared the resolution hereby adopted.

This concluded the business of the meeting

ARD-MHÉARA <u>CATHAOIRLEACH</u>